Scholarships / Awards

CASARA believes in supporting our volunteers, their training and our affiliate youth programs. The CASARA Foundation was incorporated in 1998 to present scholarships and bursaries to deserving individuals who wish to enhance their education or further their aviation careers.

We have presented several bursaries in the past, ranging from $300 to $5,000.

1. Volunteer Award

The CASARA Award recognizes the exceptional service of our volunteers, the people who make search and rescue possible. Member organizations create their own service awards and the winners can be nominated for national distinction. The award can be annual or presented whenever warranted. The winner receives an engraved plaque.

2020 Volunteer Awardees
  1. PEPAir: Allister Pederson

    Allister Pedersen of Cranbrook, BC receiving the prestigious Member of the Year award for 2020 presented by BC Director General Alton King.

  2. CASARA NS: Jim Sutherland

    Jim Sutherland of Debert, Nova Scotia receiving the prestigious Member of the Year award for 2020 presented by NS Director: Ken Poither & PSO: Verna Wirth

2019 Volunteer Awardees
  1. CASARA Nova Scotia: Ginnette Gaudet

  2. SERABEC: Remi Girard

2. Continuation Pilot Training Award

The Continuation Pilot Training Award is presented annually to one of the top graduates of the power pilot training program. The national Air Cadet League accepts nominations from its provincial committee. Each candidate must have completed the Air Cadet Flying Scholarship Course and must be interested in using his or her flying skills to support others. The winner receives up to $5,000 to use towards further flight training.

2020 Volunteer Awardee

Unavailable at this time.

2019 Volunteer Awardee

Unavailable at this time.

3. CASARA Members RCAF Military Coin Award

This award goes to select individuals from our membership that display exceptional efforts within our organization. This is presented co-inside with the RCAF to individuals for their duty and efforts that go "above and beyond".

See more here: Military Coin.pdf

2020 CASARA RCAF Military Coin Awardees

1. Mike Blizzard & Oliver Beyer

2. Kym Trask

2019 CASARA RCAF Military Coin Awardees

Unavailable at this time.